I Hate My Neighbours

Some people really just make an area worse

Janine-Marisha
4 min readAug 10, 2021
Photo by Nina Strehl on Unsplash

We’re supposed to love our neighbours, but let’s face it, some people really did just claw their way out of hell to make your life worse.

I’ve been lucky in the past, I had a neighbour for many years who was a lovely person, the type of neighbour who becomes a friend. Unfortunately it seems she may have been one of a kind.

The area I am in is becoming progressively worse and it’s a shame. It’s not a very wealthy area but is there really any need for people to live up to the shameless stereotype?

Over time more and more nightmare neighbours are moving in and the area is becoming somewhere that feels less like home and more like a pit of despair I need to escape from.

Maybe it’s because I’m working from home that I notice everything going on in the area more but I find myself hating my neighbours more and more everyday.

I could spend all day listing the reasons why…

Benefits street is real and I live on it

I used to be out between the hours of 7am until 6pm, but when I started working from home in March 2020 I noticed something which I had suspected for a while. Nobody here works!

--

--

Janine-Marisha

Usually writing or taking pictures — remote worker and part-time freelance tutor, editor, and writer. Following my dream to be an author