Quiet Quitting Doesn’t Exist

I have an issue with the latest buzzword

Janine-Marisha
4 min readJul 30, 2022
Photo by Kevin Bhagat on Unsplash

I usually hate a buzzword but I actually quite liked ‘Quiet Quitting’ when I first heard it. It’s the idea that if you are feeling burnt out in your job you should slow down and do the bare minimum.

It makes sense right?

Gone will be the feeling of having to get involved in every project or staying over your contracted hours to finish up. Some articles suggest deleting slack off your phone and not answering messages and emails in your free time. It’s all about not going above and beyond for your employer.

At first, I saw it as a positive thing, we should all be willing to set healthy boundaries in our lives, especially at work. However, the more I looked into it, the more I realised that many of the things people were being told to ‘quit’ were things none of us should be doing anyway.

When did actually doing your job become the same as quitting it all together?

My biggest issue with the concept of quiet quitting is the assumption that doing more is the standard.

If you have slack on your personal mobile delete that now. You do not get paid to be checking messages in your free time. If you work somewhere that…

--

--

Janine-Marisha

Usually writing or taking pictures — remote worker and part-time freelance tutor, editor, and writer. Following my dream to be an author