The Website I Use to Help Me Write Haiku Poems

Check your syllables are correct with this handy website

Janine-Marisha
2 min readDec 4, 2021
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I’m currently doing a December writing challenge. I decided to publish 3 times per day which is a crazy challenge for someone who barely published once a week in the past.

I wanted to do something different though and one way to ‘cheat’ or at least complete this challenge without losing my job is to write poems.

I used to write poetry all the time but somehow got out of the habit.

Isn’t it always the way we neglect the things we love. Poetry is not something that makes money as a freelancer writer (at least not for me) and I guess I got out of the habit.

Part of this challenge is simply writing what I want and not worrying about whether it’s something that will be popular. I’m finding the joy of writing again by taking away any self-imposed rules and trying to follow the crowd.

Creativity shouldn’t be about making money or copying what’s popular with others. It should be an expression…

--

--

Janine-Marisha

Usually writing or taking pictures — remote worker and part-time freelance tutor, editor, and writer. Following my dream to be an author